I’m doing a reading (so I am) on Thurs 26 Jan

the poster for the reading as a word doc download. (haven’t worked out how to make it just show….)

That there’s the (somewhat sinister) poster for a reading I’m taking part in this coming Thursday. Mind you, it’s in the Canon’s Gait pub on Edinburgh’s Royal Mile which is generally quite a witchy place. I’ll be reading only for five minutes because there are so many people on the bill.

I haven’t done many of these affairs and am still trying to work out if I like ‘the poetry reading’ as a way of presenting what I write. I figure I’ll try doing a few to find out what I get from it. One thing that does worry me, I guess, is that I might skew the work to fit the context. I mean, the event’s happening in a bar. What if I feel like I have do my poetry like stand-up comedy or something? The guys running it are quite comfortable in those environments but I think my training as a composer makes me hanker after a concert hall where you can hear a pin drop, sometimes. Mind you, the stuff I did with my band required more work getting the audience’s attention, which never seemed that hard.

Ok, I admit it, I’m fighting my inner exhibitionist!

2 responses to “I’m doing a reading (so I am) on Thurs 26 Jan

  1. Dang now I wish I was in Scotland even more! I did live there for a while, but apparently I left too soon. Can you post a copy of the reading you’re going to do? It would be appreciated.

    • that’s interesting about you being in Scotland. Where were you living?

      Hope what I posted just now of one of the poems gives you a flavour of my style. I was pleased with this one. I didn’t post the whole thing on the blog, but let me know if you want me to email you it.

Leave a Reply

