F.T. Prince’s last poem ‘Last Poem’

 

I was excited to buy F.T. Prince’s Collected Poems from Carcanet’s Fyfield imprint today. Have been wanting to read more of his work for a long while. In fact, I’m sure I ordered a collection Amazon about 10 years ago that never arrived.

I wanted to share the last poem in the book, which I read for the first time today and which confirmed that I am going to find lots to enjoy and to think about.

 

Last Poem

Stand at the grave’s head

Of any common

Man or woman,

Thomas Hardy said,

And in the silence

What they were,

Their life, becomes a poem.

 

And so with my dead,

As I know them

Now, in his

And her

Long silences;

And wait for, yet a while hence,

My own silence.

Leave a Reply

